BRC, Pirelli Carlisle Rally | Fredrik Ahlin Takes Victory And Championship Lead

Fredrik Ahlin won Pirelli Carlisle Rally, third round of MSA British Rally Championship. That makes it three different winners of first three rounds. Ahlin also becomes the first Swedish driver since 1995 to win a rally in Britain's premier rally series. With the win he also takes the lead in championship, with drivers playing their 'Joker' cards he doubled his points and leads Elfyn Evans by five points. Matthew Wilson after eleven years came back to BRC and took second overall and Elfyn Evans, due to puncture on day one had to settle for third.

Day one had four special stages to be negotiated by the drivers. On first stage pace was so fast that all top four driver clocked identical times. By midday service Elfyn Evans was leading by 7.2 seconds. But third stage 'Roughside' was really rough for Evans, as he suffered puncture and dropped like a stone from the leader board. This promoted Ahlin to first place, Last stage was similar to the first one, as six drivers posted identical times. Ahlin kept his lead intact at the end of day one. David Bogie was 7.3 second behind Ahlin. Matthew Wilson in his come back event, was third overall.

There were only three stages on day two for the drivers to complete the rally. The conditions where tough, it was raining and surface became slippery. But Elfyn Evans was determined to make it to podium. He won all three stages and climbed back to finish the rally third overall. Ahlin managed to keep the chasing pack at bay and won comfortably by 27.6 seconds. Matthew Wilson came runner up on his return to BRC. Elfyn Evans rounded off the podium finishers. David Bogie pushed hard and ended up parking his car on the ditch. Which promoted Wilson to second. BRC 2 victory went to Matt Edwards, Chris Wheeler took BRC 3 honours.

Final Classification
Fredrik Ahlin (SWE)/Morten Abrahamsen (NOR) Ford Fiesta R5
Matthew Wilson (GBR)/Stuart Loudon (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 + 27.6
Elfyn Evans (GBR)/Craig Parry (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +30.4
Tom Cave (GBR)/James Morgan (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +53.4
Martin McCormack (GBR)/David Moynihan(IRL) Skoda Fabia S2000 +1:23.4
Jonathan Greer (GBR)/Kirsty Riddick (GBR) Citroen DS3 R5 +1:54.6
Desi Henry (IRL)/Liam Moynihan (IRL) Skoda Fabia R5 +3:17.0
Neil Simpson(GBR)/Elliott Edmondson (GBR) Skoda Fabia R5 +3:20.7
Jamie Anderson (GBR)/Ross Whittock (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +3:32.6
Max Vatanen (FIN)/Jacques-Julien Renucci (FRA) Ford Fiesta R5 +3:47.2

Stay tuned for further news from the world of rally. Until then Happy Rallying!

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post