FIA ERC Round-1, Austria | Kajetan Kajetanowicz turns on the heat!

Kajetan Kajetanowicz winner of Janner Rallye 2015
Round 1 of the FIA European Rally Championship, Internationale Jänner Rallye has concluded a week ago. The event was held in the frozen asphalts of Austria. The highlight of the rally was Kajetan Kajetanowicz, who completely dominated the rally and made a perfect start for the season by winning the rally and that too with a huge margin of over 7 minutes.

Robert Consani
Leg 1 of the rally was a busy day for the crews, with 10 special stages to be completed. From the very first stage Kajetan Kajetanowicz was in a good rythm, inspite of heavy snow troublimg all other drivers. Craig Breen was first to hit troubles, on SS1 the Irish driver went off and found himself stuck in a snowbank. After that there was no looking back for Kajetan Kajetanowicz, who won all the stages of the day. Another surprise of the day was Russian driver Alexey Lukyanuk piloting a Fiesta R5. He was 57th overall after SS1 but stormed into 5th place at the end of leg with some stunning drive through the snow filled asplalt. Robert Consani too was in a good rythm with his Peugeot 207 S2000, clocking some good times throughout the day and was right behind Pole Kajetanowicz by a margin of  3min 52.5sec,  Czech pilot Jaromir Tarabus was lying in third and Alexey Lukyanuk in fourth after end of leg1,

Alexey Lukyanuk
Leg 2 saw the drivers complete another 8 special stages. Kajetan Kajetanowicz showed no signs of easing off inspite of having a healthy lead. Won all stages of the day except the last one. That was how dominant the Pole was. He won the rally by a huge margin of 7min 7.4sec.  French driver Robert Consani had a good time in his S2000 spec car and finished in runner-up spot. Russian Rocket Alexey Lukyanuk had a impressive day. He was posting some good stage times and also winning the final stage. Finally he ended up in a podium finish which also earned him the Colin McRae Flatout Trophy for his brilliant drive. Jaromir Tarabus finished fourth and Martin Fischeriehner driving a Evo 9 rouded off the top five finishers.

ERC2 victory went to Vojtech Stajf  piloting a Subaru Impreza STI. ERC3 honours went to Simone Tempestini in his Citroen DS3 R3T.

Thats all for now. Next up in ERC is the frozen forests of  Latvia. Untill then, Happy Rallying!

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post