Rally Turkey back on WRC Calendar in 2018

rally turkey returns 2018

FIA confirms, Rally Turkey back on WRC Calendar in 2018

M-Sport World Rally Team and Toyota Gazoo Racing sent representatives to the picturesque south-west holiday resort of Marmaris to observe the three-day dirt road rally, which was provisionally listed in the calendar a month ago.

They were joined by WRC Promoter management, WRC rally director Jarmo Mahonen and FIA safety delegate Michèle Mouton. All were impressed by the high standards of organisation, the quality of the special stages and the service park facilities.

“We wanted to observe a rally that is fit to take its place at the WRC’s top table,” said WRC Promoter managing director Oliver Ciesla. “The organising team at TOSFED delivered that and my congratulations go to them for securing a deserved place in the 2018 calendar.

“Next year’s fixture will be one of the most compact in the sport’s history. The special stages hug the coast with amazing backdrops overlooking the sea and WRC fans can look forward to stunning TV images.”

Large crowds watched the rally, which was won by Orhan Avcioğlu in a Skoda Fabia R5. Avcioğlu will compete in the WRC 2 support category at Dayinsure Wales Rally GB, this week’s penultimate round of the season.

Turkey’s Minister of Youth and Sports, Osman Aşkin Bak, attended Friday evening’s start ceremony in Marmaris and TOSFED president Serkan Yazici said it showed the importance attached to Turkey’s WRC return.

“We’ve worked incredibly hard to bring the WRC back to Turkey,” he said. “The Government has pledged its support and last weekend’s successful rally was the final piece of the jigsaw which confirmed our country’s return to the FIA World Rally Championship,” he said.

The final 2018 calendar is:

1. Monte-Carlo 25 – 28 January
2. Sweden 15 – 18 February
3. Mexico 8 – 11 March
4. France 5 – 8 April
5. Argentina 26 – 29 April
6. Portugal 17 – 20 May
7. Italy 7 – 10 June
8. Finland 26 – 29 July
9. Germany 16 – 19 August
10. Turkey 13 – 16 September
11. Great Britain 4 – 7 October
12. Spain 25 – 28 October
13. Australia 15 – 18 November
  • src: wrc.com

Post Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *