Gaurav Gill Leads after Day 1 of Rally New Caledonia, Round 2 | APRC - 2013

In the opening test of the rally, at the end of Leg 1, India's No.1 rally driver Gaurav Gill from Team MRF Tyres leads the rally by over 5 minutes to the nearest competitor, Emmanuel Guigou [has not registered for APRC points].

Finnish Esapekka Lappi retired out of the rally after his car developed a serious engine failure on SS4, he had won the previous stage over his team-mate G.Gill, which otherwise was in favour of Gill.

Second in the APRC points is another Indian Sanjay Takale who is going strong in his Production class as a leader, while Simon Knowles is second in class and 3rd overall in APRC.

There were many retirements than finishes today, mostly due to the rainy conditions and either the cars failed or the drivers. 4 APRC points contenders Esapekka Lappi Matt, Van Tuinen, Bruce Fullerton, and Claude Clavel retired, along with Brian Green, Jean Louis Leyraud, Eric Riande.

In the National Rally, Alexis Barbou, Eugene Creugnet, Yverick  Mercier lead the rally in top 3. Final day tomorrow will decide the winners.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post