Hover Effects


Sidebar TO-LEFT




Top Ad

Free Solar Power - Get it, be lit.



WRC - 2013, Rally Monte-Carlo | The Beginning of a Fresh New Season!

Monte-Carlo, Monaco : First round of the World Rally Championship , is underway with all the action to start from tomorrow. The 81° Ed...

Monte-Carlo, Monaco: First round of the World Rally Championship, is underway with all the action to start from tomorrow. The 81° Edition of the Rallye Monte-Carlo is held from 15th to 20th January 2013, which is one of the longest running events in the history of world rally. It is the roads and weather of this event that is both challenging and exciting. 

Although it is a asphalt event, at this time of the year, at some sections or stages will be snow lined, ice-formation is kind of a must at some places, and to add the fun, the roads are narrow, twisty over & across, mountains, making it one of the tough to judge and drive. Adding more fun, the event spans over four days of competitive action, covering a total distance that exceeds 450 kms in special stages.

Reconnaissance is underway, since Saturday from 8 a.m., till 7 p.m. today/Monday, with a maximum of two runs on the special stage routes, as usual.

Administrative checks begun yesterday/Sunday at 2 p.m., while all of today / Monday 14th is reserved for scrutineering, to ensure that all are present for shakedown on Tuesday 15th. Shakedown will be located on Plateau de Lautagne, near the RD261, south of Valence, less than 10 km from the service park [which is located in the Parc des Expositions].

Ceremonial Start is scheduled today evening, at 6 p.m., in the Champ de Mars [near the Peynet kiosk] where all competitors will present themselves for the competition, in order of competition number.

Day 1 : Stage Competition begins on Wednesday 16th, over four special stages in Ardeche, covering more than 130 km: Moulinon - Antraigues and Burzet - St Martial and back to the Valence service park by noon at 12.30 p.m.

Day 2 : On Thursday 17th, the three specials in Ardeche and Haute Loire will be driven twice, with a halfway stop in Valence at around 12.45 p.m. (130 km).

Day 3 : Friday 18th will comprise three specials, with a long St Jean en Royans - La Cime du Mas stage (33 km) in Vercors. Then, after a stop in the Valence service park, there are two classic Monte Carlo Rally stages on the way back down to Monaco, which haven’t been run for many years: St Nazaire le Desert - La Motte Chalancon  (22 km) and Sisteron - Thoard (37 km). Cars are allowed to arrive at the Monaco time control earlier than the 7.30 p.m. target time.

Day 4 : On Saturday 19th, five stages are scheduled for the 60 highest-ranked teams, with three Col-de-Turini runs (Le Moulinet - La Bollene - 23km), two of which are at night, and two passes through Col St Roch (Lantosque - Luceram - 19km), one of which is at night. The latter is classed as a Power Stage, and awards bonus points to the three top finishers.

In all, 465 km of timed stages will need to be driven to reach the final podium in the Place du Palais, Monaco, at 11 a.m., on Sunday 20th January 2013.
_ ______ ____________ _ ____________ ______ _

FIA has released the team names, cars and number one drivers entered for the 'Manufacturers' championship have been released:

  • Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team / Citroën DS3 WRC / Mikko Hirvonen
  • Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team / Ford Fiesta RS WRC / Mads Ostberg
  • Volkswagen Motorsport / Volkswagen Polo R WRC / Jari-Matti Latvala

The list continues with the following teams which will battle for the 'WRC Teams' title:

  • Abu Dhabi Citroën Total World Rally Team / Citroën DS3 WRC
  • Lotos WRC Team / Mini John Cooper Works WRC
  • Qatar World Rally Team / Ford Fiesta RS WRC

Qatar WRT will run two cars, although the rallies contested by each one are likely to be different. Meanwhile, Lotos WRC Team will be looked after by Motorsport Italia who will enter a single car for all 13 rounds.

Finally, the crews officially entered by these teams for this week’s Rallye Monte-Carlo are,

  • Citroën Total Abu Dhabi: Sébastien Loeb/Daniel Elena and Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
  • Qatar M-Sport: Mads Ostberg/Jonas Andersson and Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor
  • Volkswagen Motorsport: Jari-Matti Latvala/Mikka Anttila and Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
  • Abu Dhabi Citroën Total: Dani Sordo/Carlos Del Barrio
  • Qatar WRT: Juho Hänninen/Tomi Tuominen and Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
  • Lotos WRC Team: Michal Kosciuszko/Maciej Szczepaniak
Source : Best oF Rally Live - Michelin

No comments